Prince of Peace Church began as All Saints. All Saints Parish was first formed by a group of Episcopal women. Clergy came to Sterling from Fort Morgan and Greeley. These early pioneers met monthly at any place available, the old town hall, the Opera House, and later in the old Masonic Hall. A small building owned by a family named the Birds was also used. It was whitewashed and painted inside. Apple boxes and boards served as pews while a large crate draped with a sheet served as the altar.
In 1910, a committee was appointed to explore the possibility of raising money to build a church. The ladies organized a fund drive where each member contributed one dollar. Monthly dues were set at a quarter each toward the salary of the priest and negotiations were begun on properties. A lot on the corner of South Second Avenue and Phelps Street was contracted and plans for a Tudor chapel were drawn.
By 1915, the corner stone was laid. After much deliberation of what color brick to lay, mottled red brick was chosen. The winning bid was $4,745.00. The planning and building of the church took five years. Such was the beginning of All Saints Church, later to be known as Prince of Peace Church.
Beginning in 1958 and continuing to 2000, many updates and changes were made: A new parish hall was added in 1958; In 1964 remodeling of the chancel gave the inside of the church a new look; During 1970 the current stained glass was installed. The distinguishing aspect in regard to the building was its architecture. It’s wood tracery around the Gothic arched stained-glass windows make it quite unique for Sterling.
Over time and for various reasons, All Saints divided into two parishes. From 1979 to 1989 Sterling had two Episcopal churches: All Saints and a new mission: Holy Cross.
In 1999, Bishop Winterrowd felt the two churches should be reunited. The two congregations began efforts to become one parish again. In January 2001 the two congregations were officially joined and the church was renamed Prince of Peace Church, a Mission of the Diocese of Colorado. Today, members of Prince of Peace Church, worship in the previous All Saints building located at 201 Phelps St., Sterling.
When you attend Prince of Peace today you will notice a beautiful marble topped altar. The marble top is the original altar top from All Saints. In 2005, the marble was sent off to be refurbished, and Artisan/Craftsman George Rice with sons Jeff and Andy, built the framework of the new altar according to Fr. John Spences specifications. The framework was then wrapped in oak cabinetry. The completed altar was unveiled and sanctified on Easter Sunday, 2005. George Rice also created the oak background and Crucifix which is hung behind the altar. His inspiration for the bronze piece was Paul Landowsk’s “Christ the Redeemer” or “Cristo Redentor” which towers over Rio de Janeiro. Christ’s arms are spread wide to embrace the people of the world.
Another beautiful sight that welcomes all who enter the doors of Prince of Peace is the restored, stained - glass Narthex Window. In 2000, the church was listed in the Colorado State Register of Historic Properties. In 2012, it was noticed that the two-story stained-glass Narthex window framework was deteriorated and needed to be replaced. Members applied and received a History of Colorado Grant. This grant and support from the Sterling community made it possible for Prince of Peace to restore the tracery to its original Gothic style. Work was officially completed in May of 2018 and continually shines God’s light on us as we worship in His name. Come join us!
Newly restored Narthex window continually shines God's light on us as we worship.